In my Public Relations 2330 class we were asked to punctuate a letter that is written to Tom from Sheila. Half of the room was to add punctuation to make he letter sound as if Sheila were in LOVE with Tom; the other half of the room was to make the document sound as if she HATED Tom.

Here is the format that we started with. It has no punctuation.

Dear Tom I want a man who knows what love is all about you are generous kind thoughtful people who are not like you admit to being useless and inferior you have ruined me for other men I yearn for you I have no feelings whatsoever when we’re apart I can be forever happy will you let me be yours Sheila

My side of the room was assigned the HATE portion and this is what we came up with:

Dear Tom. I want a man who knows what love is. All about you are generous, kind, thoughtful people. who are not like you, admit to being useless and inferior. You have ruined me for other men I yearn. For you I have no feelings whatsoever. When we’re apart I can be forever happy. Will you let me be? yours ,Sheila

The class participation in this project was extremely high. Maybe some of the ladies had just gotten out of a rough relationship and needed to vent. The point of the exercise was to show how important proper punctuation and grammar are. It is very easy to misunderstand a written document because one cannot here the tone of the sender.

For any girls or guys out there that are inspired to write a love letter to someone click here to see some tips! If you would like to write a proper hate letter, just switch all the advice from the site backwards!

